MUTO Notation
by MUTO Music Method Foundation, 1995

Chromatic scale from C to C in MUTO Notation by MUTO Music Method FoundationC C#/Db D D#/Eb E F F#/Gb G G#/Ab A A#/Ab B C

See more scales, intervals, and melodies with the AudioVisualizer.

The basic staff has three lines spaced a tritone apart. The middle line represents F#/Gb and the bottom and top lines are bold and represent C. Between any two adjacent lines there are five elevations at which notes can be placed, three of which use ledger lines. One pair of ledger lines represents D and E, and the other pair G#/Ab and A#/Bb. If you include the ledger lines, each line of the staff is evenly spaced at a whole step apart, resulting in a 6-6 line pattern of alternating line-notes and space-notes.

Website: MUTO Music Method Foundation

Earliest documentation: 1995

Source: MUTO Music Method Foundation Website